top of page

Remembering Your "Why"

When I think about the first time I was introduced to Hip Hop history for dance, I remember feeling overwhelmed but inspired by all the history of these dance styles that were created back then. And what Hip Hop meant to these pioneers and how everything started out of struggles and events that led to creating these moments.


There is a lot to Hip Hop history and its culture, I remember joining my first dance team in high school and being introduced to these art forms. In order for me to understand the movement, I was taught the history and names of each dance move and where they originated. This is the training and foundation that is needed to be shared these days because a lot of people skip the basics and do the advanced stuff without the history of where these moves came from. In order to really understand the textures and movement, learn the basics and respect the culture. Go back to when you first started dancing or fell in love with Hip Hop and remember why you began your journey to appreciating and enjoying this passion.


I have more to say about this but this is what I want to do with this blog, I want to share the history of Hip Hop and its culture while acknowledging the people that spread this knowledge and continue to do a lot for the Hip Hop community. I am thankful for the organizations that do that and I will be sharing their work in future posts. Be on the lookout for that. But also, remember your why.


7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page